Cathode production

A unique service in North America

Groupe Tremblay is the only occidental company to manufacture cathode plates with a patent of which they hold exclusive operating rights.

These cathode plates act as ion detectors during the electrolytic process. The manufacturing procedure consists in a successive series of steps leading to the assembly of each part of the cathode to finally obtain a unique product up to the client’s standards of excellence.

Reusing and recycling

However, the lifespan of the cathode is limited, thus creating a considerable amount of aluminum waste, despite the fact that an important proportion of the material is still usable and has sustained its properties.

Groupe Tremblay therefore surrounded itself with partners in order to realize an innovative plan to design and implement the very first friction stir welding (FSW) cell aiming to recycle these used plates.

These new ecofriendly installations are a substantial source of economic savings for the company and give it a competitive edge on the market. Cathode plates reconditioning is now an important dimension of Groupe Tremblay, as a great part of its resources in research and development are devoted to it.

Soudage par friction-malaxage

Production cathodique

Un service unique en Amérique

Groupe Tremblay est la seule entreprise en Occident à fabriquer des plaques cathodiques à partir d’un brevet dont il détient l’exclusivité d’exploitation.

Ces plaques cathodiques servent de capteurs d’ions dans le procédé d’électrolyse. Le processus de fabrication consiste essentiellement en l’assemblage, par étapes successives, de toutes les parties de la cathode afin d’obtenir un produit unique qui correspond aux standards d’excellence définis par le client.

Réutilisation et récupération

Or, la durée de vie des cathodes est limitée, créant ainsi un volume considérable de rebuts d’aluminium, malgré une proportion importante du matériel qui demeure intègre et dont les propriétés restent viables.

Groupe Tremblay s’est donc entourée de partenaires afin de créer un plan novateur lié à la réalisation et la mise en application de la toute première cellule de soudage par friction malaxage (FSW) visant le recyclage de ces plaques usées.

Cette nouvelle installation éco responsable permet à l’entreprise de réaliser des économies substantielles et lui offre un avantage compétitif sur le marché. Le reconditionnement des plaques est désormais un volet important de l’entreprise, qui y consacre une grande partie de ses ressources en recherche et développement.